Jammie Dodger Cheesecakes


I have become rather interested in synchronicity lately after watching the program ‘Touch on’ on Sky 1. Synchronicity is a term used by Carl Jung to explain that the events that happen in our lives are not an accident or coincidence as everything happens for a reason. We have all had times when you go to ring or text someone and before you get to do it they ring or text you. The moment when you are in a real hurry and you drive into a car park and someone drives out just at the right time (OK that never happens to me) but those are very simple examples of synchronicity. I think the Jammie Dodger Cheesecakes I created are an example of synchronicity at work that day for me.

Jammie Dodger Cheesecakes

They began creation in my mind a few months ago when I spottted mini oreo cheesecake’s on the wonderful Grace’s Sweet Life but I never got around to making them. Not until this weekend when the order of the Cosmos (or whatever you believe in) decided that I was going to create them. Firstly the universe made sure Jammie dodgers were on offer so I had multiple packets as they are not a biscuit I buy as they are quite pricey. The cream cheese I had ordered for something else a long time ago which sat folornly waiting to be used decided it would leap out of the fridge at me. The raspberries ordered for a raspberry bakewell cake never arrived ( I was so gutted) so my baking plans for the weekend were ruined (or so I thought)

Jammie Dodger Cheesecakes

The roughly drafted recipe from months ago fell onto the kitchen floor and I realised that now was truly the time. I opened the dodgers with a sense of purpose and began to count the biscuits and this is where I hit my first problem. I assumed there would be 12 in a packet in my rough recipe (always the optimist) to find there was only 8! Dejected I took one dodger, hovered it by my mouth in a knee jerk must have comfort food type reaction. As I grumbled about it all being wrong – blah blah blah, my Son walks in. He hears me moaning and says ‘I’ll just work out the correct ratio for you Mum, give me a pen’. Umm did that really happen?

Jammie Dodger Cheesecake

I needed 92g of cream. Guess how much was left over after the turkish delight cake? Yes exactly 92g and for some unknown reason I did not throw it away although I would normally as I don’t eat cream unless it is in something. The scaled down cheesecake mixture by my Son could not have been more of a perfect fit if it tried. These were meant to happen and I am so glad they did as they are bliss.

Jammie Dodger Cheesecake

I love that you can see the splat on the dodger and the jammy heart through the paper which again is a miracle as I have baked these again and it didn’t happen (I think as I did not push them fully down into the tin in my haste). Thanks to synchronicity my family all raised their little Jammie Queen’s to the sky and admired the splat before sending them on their final journey. I don’t think I can even express how much I love it when baking and synchronicity come together.

Jammie Dodger Cheesecake

So whether you believe in synchronicity or not I feel it has a lot to play in my life and I am certainly looking out for the signs. They are there you see as when I was photographing these on instagram I ended up having a conversation with Butcher Baker who I have not spoken to too for ages who was in the throws of writing a fantastic post on how to make Jammie dodgers and had sent me a message. The World as they say works works in mysterious ways so why not slow down and listen to the baking messages you get. What have you been told lately?

Jammie Dodger Cheesecakes

Let me know your synchronicty / coincidence stories – be it life or baking! I truly find it fascinating.

Ingredients
1 packet of Jammie Dodgers (8 biscuits)
1 packet of mini Jammie Dodgers (optional for topping)
272g cream cheese
67g vanilla sugar (or use caster sugar)
1 egg (room temperature)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract (or 1 tsp if not using vanilla sugar)
92g single cream (any cream will work fine)
2 tbsp of strawberry jam (optional as a filling to the cheesecake)

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 275f / 135 C / 115 fan
2. Pop a jammie dodger upside down (splat faces down!) so you have the jam centre facing downwards in muffin cases and in a muffin tin x 8
3. Beat together cheese and sugar
4. Dizzle in the egg and mix
5. Ad the cream and mix – add in the vanilla extract and give a final mix
6. Pour mixture into the cases on top of hte jammie dodger until each is near the top
7. Warm the jam so it is runny and easier to pour (about 20 seconds in the mircowave)
8. Add a dollop of jam to centre of each cake and swirl
9. Add one further dollop of jam in the centre so they look like a jammy dodger
10. Transfer to the middle shelf of the oven and bake for 11 minutes and then rotate the tin 180 degrees. Bake for a further 11 minutes (approx your oven may vary). There will be some wobble to the cheesecakes but the mixture will not be runny when it is done.
11. Leave cheesecakes to cool in the tin and then transfer (still in the tin) to the fridge overnight for best results. Do not try to admire the splat at the bottom as it will end in disaster just trust it is there (ifd you pushed it down enough) and enjoy the thrill of seeing it tomorrow when you salute the sky with your new Queen of cheesecakes.  If it does not appear then blame it on synchnocity playing with you.
12. Top with cream and a mini dodger if you wish.

Enjoy!

Jammie Dodger Cheesecake

Coming soon: pay day cake 4 is in development and a little clue there is less cake this time. Other than that I have no idea I’m just going to see what happens.

31 thoughts on “Jammie Dodger Cheesecakes

  1. These jammie dodger cheesecakes were obviously meant to be…and I’m glad they did as they look delicious!!! I love it when a plan comes together… 🙂

    I had a case of synchronicity fairly recently but unfortunately it was a negative turn of events involving car keys…but that’s another story and it was obviously meant to happen!

  2. These are super cute!! I love the splat 🙂 Absolutely love your story about baking and synchonicity – it’s great when the stars align or whatever you believe it. It really does happen – not always but I’m sure we’ve all had our moments. Sadly it’s been a mix of baking fails and highs recently – more failures but I live in hope 🙂

    • With the amoutn you bake I am not surprised you get some failures along the way. They are bound to happen although they always look good to me and I guess we learn something from each one. Hope it gets better.

  3. I love it when something is so meant to happen, and you know that I LOVE cheesecakes and mini food so these are pretty much my ideal dessert. Think my girls would love these too.

    • I think your girls would love these too as they are very cute and quite yummy too! I guess if I had put jubille flags in them I could have entered the competition but only just thought of that idea!

  4. I love the co incidence of the cream! that is too cool! and these are super cute, especially the jammy dodger as the cheesecake base – genius! and what is that giant jammy dodger tin like object in the picture? it’s awesome!

    • I know I was amazed when I weighed it! Yes you spotted my jammie dodger tin – it’s from M&S of all placews! I’d been waiting to use it a a shoot.

  5. WOW these look great 😉 i’ve actually never heard of a Jammie Dodger before! I don’t think we get them here in melbourne 😦 damn but I’m sure i’d be able to find some similar type of cookies and i’ll try your recipe 😉 thanks for sharing!

  6. What a fun idea – love the splat on the bottom too. Jammy Dodgers are one of my sinful secrets (no more) so I sort of know that I would love these cheesecakes. What I didn’t know was that they did mini ones. That whole syncronicity things is so weird, when it works it’s brilliant and I have whole days where it does. When it works in reverse, my whole day seems to turn into a disaster.

  7. Pingback: Mojito Inspired Polenta Cake (Gluten and Dairy Free) | cakeboule

  8. Pingback: Handmade Monday 68 « Tilly Mint Boutique

  9. Pingback: Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake with Chocolate Covered Strawberries | cakeboule

  10. Pingback: Take a break from the grey and bake | cakeboule

  11. Pingback: Blackcurrant & White Chocolate Cupcake Style Cheesecakes | homemadebyfleur.co.uk

Leave a comment