Turkish Delight Layer Cake (Gluten Free)


A 60th Birthday is the excuse for this month’s pay day cake and this is the 3rd so far in my pay day cake quest.  If you missed the espresso hit ‘Macchiato’ and the moist gluten free ‘Sticky toffee pudding’ layer cake then do take a look.  This cake is for a man who is enchanted by the lure of eastern promise. So it had to be a turkish delight and chocolate cake just like his favourite bar.  I know this is not going to be everyone’s favourite but you can always choose not to use the rose in the buttercream and have a chocolate and vanilla layer cake instead.

Turkisjh Delight Layer Cake

So I set to work with my usual staple of four layers of cake – this time using a moist and dark chocolate cake.  This cake never fails me and I do believe if it is not broke don’t fix it. Ganache however is a whole new ball game for me and it was most defiantly a challenge.

Turkish Delight Layer Cake

A vibrant pink rose flavoured buttercream sandwiched the layers together.  Rich dark ganache held it all snuggly together and turkish delight adorned the top of the cake like glistening jewels.  Ok, I admit I did get glitter happy but it is a birthday cake and all birthday cakes deserve a bit of sparkle I think.  I think Edmund from the ‘Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’ would have worn this cake as a crown if the White Witch would have given it to him.

Luckily I did not have to belly dance or go as a sultry lady to give him the cake (phew!).  Like magic the cake vanished so quickly his wife had to rescue a piece for him and hide at the back of the fridge. I let out a huge sigh of relief that not only had I made it, got there in one piece and was devoured.

Rich dark chocolate cake
150g dark chocolate chopped into tiny pieces
200ml milk
450g light brown sugar
150g salted butter at room temperature
4 eggs at room temperature
300g plain flour
3 tsp cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

To make gluten-free – substitute the flour for gluten-free plain flour – no need to add xanthum gum as this cake is very moist and does not need it. I have baked this chocolate cake gluten-free on a number of occasions and find it works very well.  I am going to try this with with spelt flour next time.  To find out more about gluten-free baking see my top tips here.

Instructions
1. Preheat the oven to 160 C / 140 fan  / Gas 3
2. Line 2 x 20cm cake tins with greaseproof paper
3. Chop up the chocolate into small chunks and place the chocolate, milk and half the sugar into a saucepan
4. Heat until the chocolate is fully melted and remove from the heat
5. Beat the butter and remaining sugar until light and fluffy ( about five minutes)
6. Add the eggs one at a time (adda spoonful of flour if the mixture curdles)
7. Sift the cocoa , flour , baking powder and bicarb into the mixture
8. Mix on a low-speed until fully combined
9. Pour into the tins and bake on the middle shelf for approx 40 minutes
10. Remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tin.

Rose Buttercream
200g softened butter
200g icing sugar
Few drops (to taste) of rose extract – be sparing it is powerful stuff
Drops of pink food colour (optional)

Instructions

1. Beat the butter and icing sugar together until light and fluffy
2. Add the milk (or for richness use condensed milk)
3. Add a few drops of pink food colouring (optional)
4. Add a few drops of rose extract (use sparingly, mix and taste after each drop I would suggest until you get it how you like it)

Ganache
400g dark chocolate (70% cocoa)
400g single cream
Few drops of glucose (optional but makes the chocolate nice and shiny)

Instructions
1. Chop the chocolate into very small chunks
2. Put the cream into a saucepan and bring slowly to the boil and remove from the heat
3. Pour the cream over the chocolate (or add the chocolate to the pan) and let it have about a minute before stirring it to melt the chocolate
4. Set aside to cool

To Assemble the Cake

Cut each cake into two even layers (I use a tape measure to make sure each layer is evenly sized. I don’t have a cake stand that rotates but I do use a revolving cheese board stand but you could also uses a lazy Susan to do the job. Add a dollop of buttercream to the centre of your stand and add your first layer of cake and press down – this will keep your cake in place while you work.

Assembly
1. Spread buttercream across the bottom layer .
2. Add the next cake layer carefully and repeat until all layers are done
3. Do not refrigerate cake as this will cause the ganache to go off too quickly.
4. Using a large palette knife – spread the chocolate ganche around the cake and top with turkish delight. Ganache I found to be a bit more tricky than buttercream (see below)

Chocolate Ganache
One minute it was too warm so was slipping off the cake in gloops of molten chocolate goo. The next minute it seemed to be staying put, spreading well and it was beautiful and glossy.  Then I turned by back for less than a minute and when I returned the ganache had started to harden and that was it – time up!  Luckily for me I still had a bit of ganache left over which I warmed for a few seconds in the microwave just to gloss over any areas I was not happy with.  I think I need a bit more practise with this!

Enjoy!

Up Next: Jammie Dodger Cheesecakes.

28 thoughts on “Turkish Delight Layer Cake (Gluten Free)

  1. This certainly is dark and delicious! I’d love to see a picture of the inside too with the pink buttercream!! I love rose turkish delight, so this would be a good cake for me!! 🙂

  2. Fabulous cake!!! I absolutely love this cake. The ganache is perfect. I love a good liberal sprinkling of glitter too. Rose buttercream is a great idea too to keep the Turkish delight flavours running through the cake 🙂 I have a confession part of my love for Turkish delight stems from being in a musical production of The Lion The Witch and The Wardrobe as a teen. There was a whole song dedicated to Turkish Delight! (but we couldn’t afford it so had to make do with cubes of jelly rolled in icing sugar for props!) Can you guess who I played…

    • Thank you Lauren. I am sure you played your role in the play perfectly! I did not know there was a song about Turkish delight – how cool! I think the jelly rolled in icing sugar was a very good improvisation although it would have been better for you if it had been the real thing. I tried substituting butter today with oil as you suggested and it worked – the cake did not work as it was the wrong quantities for the tin size – got to love it when the BBC good food do that – grrrr! Other than that it was good so thanks for the tip.

      • Hello! Oh that’s always so disappointing when the cake tin isn’t quite the right one. I bet it tasted great though! I’m so pleased the oil worked for you. I always feel a bit healthier using oil instead of butter 🙂 x

  3. I love your pay day cakes and I hope you will be able to keep producing them for a long time to come. I’m not surprised that it was all eaten up before you could snap the inside. I used spelt flour for the first time this week and was really pleased with the result.

    • I used some today in a bake and like I said to Lauren it was good but the BBC printed the wrong quanitites for the tin size Idid wonder before I began and thought to myself no they must know what they are doing as they get paid for this – apparently not! I did like the taste even if it is a very flat cake! I can;t talk I just relaised I missed the eggs off my banana and chocolate loaf cake recipe – so off to put that right – but I don’t get paid for this!

  4. Oh my goodness what a beautiful cake! I absolutely love the glittery frosting and the triangle wedges of Turkish Delight, so arty! and your photos are completely beautiful. I’m not a fan of Turkish Delight but it’s my dad’s favourite…no birthday is complete without buying him some so perhaps I’ll bookmark this as a future birthday bake for him!

  5. Oh wow I love your payday cakes and look forward to them every month. I’m not a fan of turkish delight but this cake looks fab!! Yes you can never have too much glitter especially at birthdays 🙂 ps the photos are absolutely stunning!!

  6. Pingback: Jammie Dodger Cheesecakes | cakeboule

  7. Pingback: Take a break from the grey and bake | cakeboule

  8. Hi
    Will this bake like a regular sponge? toothpick comes out clean? I am asking because i am baking it at the moment and its been cooking for 45 mins but its still pretty liquid

  9. Hello – just come across your website and am looking forward to trying out this cake. I’m not sure which of us likes Turkish delight the best in my family (we’ll all be squabbling for the last piece I’d imagine!) but just wondered how much milk to add to the buttercream at step 2? Thank you – it sounds absolutely delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

