Learning binary with chocolate to bring out the geek in you


Those of you who follow me on twitter or instagram will know I have been learning binary due to the governments move towards teaching children computing. I spent a whole evening learning how to count in binary which I actually enjoyed in a geekish way until I realised I had written the numbers on my fingers in permanent pen (oops).    Binary is the language computers talk in and is represented by 1’s and 0’s to show on and off currents.  Ok (yawn) so what does this have to do with chocolate?  Read on to find out, join in the quiz for some Easter fun and learn a new game to amuse Kids and Adults in boring car journeys and queues over the holidays!

I was so enthused with Binary I ended up teaching it to my friend and we used it to rate the Hotel Chocolat Sleekster egglets from the Easter collection.  In the last review of HC I choose a premium box but this time opted for the Sleekster as it has a wide variety of flavours designed to suit everyone and is for sharing.  To me sharing and Hotel Chocolat do not mix.

We rated each egglet using binary by showing each other the scores using our fingers. We had quite a giggle actually and it is a great tool for teaching mental maths to children.  Try it out:

As you can see from the image above each finger respresents a number (16, 8, 4,2,1 ) and to count in Binary using your hands you show the amount of fingers that make up the total number you are trying to show.

For example: this image would represent 12 (8 +4) or 01100

Think of 0’s = off or fingers down and 1’s = fingers up or on.  This image above is showing the 00110 as the 0’s are the fingers down and 1’s are the fingers up.  Be wary of doing the numbers 4 and 6 towards someone as you may cause offence which is probably why we were giggling so much.

You can use Binary to count up to 31 on just one hand and it gives your brain a work out.  Watch this 9 year old count to 31 on one hand in 30 seconds!  Why not set your own geeky competition for your children as some Easter ‘stuck indoors fun’ or on car journeys and the bonus is they will be learning computing and mental maths.  Using what you have learnt about binary see if you can work out what scores we gave the chocolates and then you can be a geek too.  If that is not enough for you show them this binary magic card trick – this amused me for hours (little things do it for me).

The Scores (averaged between us and out of 16)

Lemon Ganache                       01100 (remember – 0 = finger down, 1 = finger up)
Plain Praline                             01100
Speyside Whisky                      01011
Mango                                       01011
Advocat                                     01010
Ginger & Dark                           00100

Now to change things up – I will give you the number what would the binary be?

Runny Salted Caramel              9 (what fingers do you need to show this?)  e.g. 01001
Raspberry                                 13
Caramel Praline                        11
Pink Champagne                      16

Overall the Sleekster is a great variety box that allows you taste a wide array of what HC has to offer but now I know what to expect of the flavours in future I will gravitate towards my favourites rather than a selection box.  I think there is always one or two chocolates that you do not like (I guess that is why I was supposed to share).

Whilst I was very pleased with them after I read the review by Homemade by Fleur for an extra thick ‘You crack me up’ Easter egg I really wish I had opted for one of those.  However the HC range is far superior to any other chocolate I have tried and I will certainly look at more ranges in the future as they really are a treat.  The chocolate is always thick and the flavours carefully balanced.    You get a free gift if you spend over £35 and there are many different and unusual chocolates to choose from like the choco hot cross buns they really caught my eye.

Final quiz for you –  Overall I gave the Sleekster 01100 out of 16 what was the final score?

11 thoughts on “Learning binary with chocolate to bring out the geek in you

  1. Haha, I love that you reviewed it in binary! After a few drinks, I once made my best friend’s boyfriend, a maths teacher, teach me binary numbers but I’m afraid that the knowledge was gone as soon as I woke up. There’s a Hotel Chocolat near where I work and every day I have to resist the temptation to go in…

    • Maths is my weakest subject hence the creation of a game using chocolate to learn it 🙂 wonder what I will come up with for algorithms – its all Greek to me!

  2. I need to learn some binary counting to help with my computer coding skills and I think chocolate is the way forward, just need a box of Hotel Chocolat to magically find it’s way to my desk so I can start learning!

  3. Pingback: Hot Chocolate Fudge Sauce | cakeboule

Leave a Reply

