A Review and Hotel Chocolat Giveaway


Win your Hotel Chocolat ‘Head Over Heels’ box featured and reviewed below! Full details are at the bottom of this review – Good Luck.  The winner of the box was the Daisy Cake Company who can be found here – congratulations and enjoy!

Review Of Hotel Chocolat (all views are my own and I have not been paid for this review – click to see my disclosure rules). We are always happy to review products fairly so please feel free to contact cakeboule at gmail dot com.

Hotel Chocolat sent me the ‘Head over Heels’ selection from their beautiful valentine range. Immediatley I choose a small selection of Hotel Chocolat virgins whose first words were ‘Who’s Hotel Chocolat?’ but after a quick google were up for the challenge. These ladies are self confessed chocolate addicts who aim for vast quantities to hit the chocolate spot rather than quality (Thorntons probably being the highest on their list so far) and none of whom would ever dream of paying £25 for a box of chocolates. So Hotel Chocolat this is going to be your toughest taste test yet as these are hardened testers who enter this review unconvinced by prestigious brand chocolate and pretty packaging as all they are looking for is a chocolate kick. Will you transform these normal unconvinced everyday girls into Hotel Chocolat lovers and make them fall ‘Head Over Heels’ or will you be blown out the water faster than a nerd on a first date?

Mission : “Would you be happy to get this box for Valentines Day?”

The Mission Testers:
ProTester Big Bump – religiously eats chocolate by the bag full (one is never enough) and prefers dark strong chocolate flavours to satisfy her intense cravings. In younger years she has been known to carefully peel out chocolate from her Mother’s Easter egg without disturbing the foil so nobody would know it had gone (ingenious!).
ProTester I’m in Charge – set out the chocolate tasting rules with expert military precision and for that we were grateful. She has been known to sneakily eat her son’s chocolate bars when really desperate for her chocaholics fix but got caught out when she forget to hide the wrapper. She prefers milk chocolate to dark generally.
ProTester OCD (note taker) – one of those annoying people who can stop after one chocolate and still has half an easter egg left festering in the cupboard which flew out of the cupboard and hit her on the head recently.

Testing Procedure: Each chocolate was cut into 3, smelt, centres licked and then sucked into oblivion.

The Box Test – If you were left these what would you think?

Pro Tester Big Bump: I’d know someone had brought me a quality gift just by the feel and look of the box but I would still not believe they cost £25 – I would have to google it to see how much they were.
ProTester I’m in Charge: The layout of the box and chocolates says quality and there is not a hint of tackiness at all.
Pro Tester OCD: How much! I like to have things I can keep but I would keep the box as it so pretty but I would never dream of paying that much for a box of choclates so I am not convinced.

Opening the Box: Bowled over or Chocolate flop?
ProTester Big Bump: menu given is well crafted and on quality card stock continuing to make you realise this is not your ordinary box of chocolates that you would find in Aldi. The menu lacks a gluten free symbol which would be very helpful to those who are coeliac.
Pro Tester I’m in Charge: Opens the box, wafts her hand towards her nose and breathes in the aroma deeply (similar to the dog version of I am going to smell you before I lick you). The smell of dark, rich chocolate aroma hits you with force as you pull off the outer layer. The chocolates are beautifully presented with an interesting combination of decoration and colour. You don’t see this in a box of milk tray.
ProTester OCD: The smell is divine – they should make plug in air fresheners that go through the different chocolate smells.

The Chocolates : Worth the Money or Never Repeat Again?

Strawberry & Black Pepper
An unusual combination which had a very rich with a very smooth strawberry truffle with the bite of black pepper as a punchy aftertaste like pleasure and pain rolled into one chocolate. ProTester Big Bump: This was the odd ball but lovable.

Champagne Truffle
Hardness of the chocolate is balanced well against the smoothness of the intoxicating hit of champagne and you can literally feel the fizz and bubbles in your mouth – how do they do this? ProTester Big Bump: I hate milk chocolate and champagne but I could literally eat my body weight in these. Can they make champagne that tastes like this please!

Praline Truffle
This smelt as if hundreds of hazelnuts have been roasted and packed into this elegant truffle. The centre was smooth and so crammed full of hazelnut flavours that you would expect the centre to have bits of nuts in it yet this was beautifully smooth. ProTester OCD: Ferrero Rocher pales into insignificance.

Half Time Report: After just 3 chocolates the testers reported that normally they have to eat one large chocolate bar to really hit the chocolate spot and then are left thinking ”OK, what can I have next?. All felt their chocolate spot had not only been satisfied but it had been seductively massaged and caressed in a way they never knew existed.

Amaretto Amour
There are only three words for this: Oh My Goodness! Packed full of amaretto kick but in a smooth, dreamy eye closing and happy sigh experience. Pro Tester I’m in Charge: It is as if you have been tangoed with a slap of Amaretto and if I were to be tangoed there would be no better way than this. Whooo Whoooo! (Note: She was so excited by this one I was surprised not to see her bra being swung above her head whilst whooping with joy).

Milk Chocolate Truffle
ProTester I’m in Charge: Nice, but if i had this one first I might have been disappointed as the other flavours are so uniquely different and a true experience but this was an anticlimax (must have been all the whooping after the last flavour). ProTester OCD: This was like a contestant on X Factor: good but forgettable.

Raspberry Rapture
Zingy , refreshing and who knew a chocolate could be refreshing? A well-balanced blend of centre to chocolate ratio (yes the girls are getting technical now!). ProTester I’m in Charge: This reminds me of lost Summer family memories of picking raspberries and eating them in the garden with the heat beating down on our little faces. ProTester Big Bump: Raspberries can be a disappointing fruit as they can be watery and lack flavour. This has more raspberry flavour than a raspberry but not in a sickly overpowering way.

Bakewell Tart
We expected something different with this one which although exquisite did not deliver quite what it promised. ProTester OCD: Very similar to the Amaretto Amour which is good as that one was amazing but I expected a little more cherry which was lost as the amaretto overpowered it (hence no bra swinging on this one).

Black Cherry Truffle
This was saved to last as this was ProTester Big Bump’s most desired. Pro Tester Big Bump: I put this one on a pedestal in my mind and when you do that it usually falls flat and doesn’t live up to expectations. This however truly did, if this was a man it would be David Boreanaz as it is sultry, cocky with its flavour and yet still a smouldering smoothy. Baby also really enjoyed this one as he/she gave an almighty kick of adoration.

Mission Conclusion: “Would you be happy to get this box for Valentines Day?”

Despite originally saying no we would not be impressed by a box of chocolates all testers agree a resounding Head over heels – YES YES YES! Decadent chocolates, beautiful quality packaging that offer a truly a luxurious taste experience perfect for special gift , occasion or girly night. The testers reported they will certainly be going to look around for a Hotel Chocolat shop soon and quickly googled the nearest location to chocolate stalk. Men out there – take note you will most definitely be loved by buying these as a gift.

ProTester Big Bump: I would be very happy if my husband brought me these and for once I would not sit and eat the whole lot in one go as they scratch the chocolate itch quickly and in a truly satisfying way.

ProTester I’m in Charge: There have been occasions when I really wanted to treat someone for a special occasion and I never know what to get. Now I would buy them a box of these as it would really showed how much they meant to me. I’m off to look at the nearest shop!

ProTester OCD: I didn’t think I would be won over , I truly didn’t but I have to admit these are exquisite and worth every penny. I said I did not want an Easter egg this year (last years still uneaten!) I said I wanted sprinkles instead but this has changed my mind I want a Hotel Chocolat one pleeeeeasssse.

Hotel Chocolat Giveaway

Win your own box by entering the competition to win the ‘Head over heels’ selection box worth £25 by popping over to my facebook page where you will see competitions on the left side or click here to go directly to the competition page. Tell me something (a post or picture ) that made you smile on my blog and you have your first entry! You do not have to be on Facebook to join in – you can still click on this link and enter with an email address – the chocolates are worth every bit of effort I can assure you!

Winners will be announced on the Facebook page widget after the competition has closed and you will need to contact me by email (cakeboule at gmail dot com) to give me an address to send directly to Hotel Chocolat so they can send you the winning box. If you sadly do not win – do have a look at the Hotel Chocolat range and make yourself very happy or someone else.

Small Print: I have no control over how long it itakes Hotel Chocolat to post out the winnig box so please be patient.

FAQ – Entering a Rafflecopter Competition (via Facebook)
What is rafflecopter? Watch this video
Do I have to have a Facebook account? No you can enter directly with an email address
Do I have to do all the things? No just answering the first question is all you need to get an entry – the extra things just count as extra bonus points towards winning.
How to find URL of a tweet – click here

You might also like:

Chocolate, Oreo, Honeycomb Vanilla Cheesecake

Chocolate Toffee Cookies

Vanilla Fudge and White choclate truffles

Cake Pop Art or Chocolate Heaven

10 thoughts on “A Review and Hotel Chocolat Giveaway

  1. Is there where I tell you my favourite post? So difficult to choose – I like all of them! At the moment a tie between the chocolate, oreo, honeycomb vanilla cheesecake and gingerbread campervan!

  2. Pingback: Ginger and White Chocolate Buttercream Cupcakes | cakeboule

  3. Pingback: Hotel Chocolat Sleekster Collection | cakeboule

  4. Pingback: Hotel Chocolat Sleekster Collection | cakeboule

Leave a Reply

